Link to Democratic Party
Link to Republican Party
List of other political parties
Sponsor of D.C.'s Political Report
1996 Results

Web D.C.'s Report

State by State Coverage D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Link to Political Parties Presidential Elections Current Calendar of Political Events List of Open Seats Current Poll Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Forum for Discussion Election Results Subscribe to D.C.'s Political Report Link to Political Organizations Archive Subscribe to D.C.s Political Report List of ALL Presidential Candidates Presidential Predictions State by State Coverage of Elections List of ALL Political Parties Governmental, Political and Media Links Election Results from 1988 and continuing 2004 Political Calendar List of Open Seat Races Current Polls Numbers D.C.'s Political Report's Ratings Commentary by D.C. Finegold-Sachs Archive of Daily Reports Open Discussion Forum
Get BlogAd Political Insider Network

D.C.'s Political Report

Open Governors Races in 1996
3 Democrats - 1 Republican
  1. Evan Bayh (D-IN) barred
  2. Mike Lowry (D-WA) retired
  3. Gaston Caperton (D-WV) Barred
  1. Steve Merrill (R-NH) Retired

Open Senate Races in 1996
8 Democrats - 7 Republicans
  1. Howard Heflin (D-AL) Retiring
  2. David Pryor (D-AR) Retiring
  3. Sam Nunn (D-GA) Retiring
  4. Paul Simon (D-IL) Retiring
  5. Bennett Johnston (D-LA) Retiring
  6. Bill Exon (D-NE) Retiring
  7. Bill Bradley (D-NJ) Retiring
  8. Clairence Pell (D-RI) Retiring
  1. Hank Brown (R-CO) retired
  2. Nancy Kassebaum (R-KS) retired
  3. Robert Dole (R-KS) resigned
  4. William Cohen (R-ME) retired
  5. Ron Packwood (R-OR) resigned
  6. Mark Hatfield (R-OR) retired
  7. Alan Simpson (R-WY) retired

Open House Races in 1996
35 Democrats - 23 Republicans
  1. Glen Browder (D-AL-3) defeated in Senate primary
  2. Tom Bevill (D-AL-4) retired
  3. Blanche Lambert-Lincoln (D-AR-1) retired
  4. Ray Thornton (D-AR-2) retired
  5. Norm Mineta (D-CA-15) resigned
  6. Anthony Beilenson (D-CA-24) retired
  7. Walter Tucker (D-CA-37) retired
  8. Pat Schroeder (D-CO-1) retired
  9. Pete Peterson (D-FL-2) retired
  10. Sam Gibbons (D-FL-11) retired
  11. Harry Johnston (D-FL-19) retired
  12. Mel Reynolds (D-IL-2) resigned
  13. Cardiss Collins (D-IL-7) retired
  14. Dick Durbin (D-IL-20) elected to Senate
  15. Andrew Jacobs (D-IN-10) retired
  16. Cleo Fields (D-LA-5) retired
  17. Kweisi Mfume (D-MD-7) resigned
  18. Gerry Studds (D-MA-10) retired
  19. Barbara-Rose Collins (D-MI-15) defeated in primary
  20. Sonny Montgomery (D-MS-3) retired
  21. Pat Williams (D-MT-AL) retired
  22. Bob Torricelli (D-NJ-9) elected to Senate
  23. Charlie Rose (D-NC-7) retired
  24. Bill Brewster (D-OK-3) retired
  25. Ron Wyden (D-OR-3) elected to Senate
  26. Jack Reed (D-RI-2) elected to Senate
  27. Tim Johnson (D-SD-AL) elected to Senate
  28. Harold Ford (D-TN-9) retired
  29. Jim Chapman (D-TX-1) defeated in Senate primary
  30. Charles Wilson (D-TX-2) retired
  31. John Bryant (D-TX-5) defeated in Senate primary
  32. Pete Geren (D-TX-12) retired
  33. Kika de la Garza (D-TX-15) retired
  34. Ronald Coleman (D-TX-16) retired
  35. L.F. Payne (D-VA-5) retired
  1. Tim Hutchinson (R-AR-3) elected to Senate
  2. Carlos Moorhead (R-CA-27) retired
  3. Wayne Allard (R-CO-4) elected to Senate
  4. Edward Pease (R-IN-7) retired
  5. Jim Ross Lightfoot (R-IA-3) ran for Senate
  6. Pat Roberts (R-KS-1) elected to Senate
  7. Sam Brownback (R-KS-2) elected to Senate
  8. Jan Meyers (R-KS-3) retiring
  9. Jimmy Hayes (R-LA-7) lost in Senate primary
  10. Mel Hancock (R-MO-7) retired
  11. Bill Emerson (R-MO-8) died
  12. Barbara Vucanovich (R-NV-2) retired
  13. Bill Zeliff (R-NH-1) lost in Governor primary
  14. Richard Zimmer (R-NJ-12) ran for Senate
  15. Wes Cooley (R-OR-2) retired
  16. Bill Clinger (R-PA-5) retired
  17. Robert Walker (R-PA-16) retired
  18. Jimmy Quillen (R-TN-1) retired
  19. Jack Fields (R-TX-8) retired
  20. Greg Laughlin (R-TX-14) defeated in primary
  21. Enid Greene-Waldholtz (R-UT-2) retired
  22. Steve Gunderson (R-WI-3) retired
  23. Toby Roth (R-WI-8) retired

Copyright 1998-2005 D.C. Finegold-Sachs.